Sling TSi Builder In Dallas-Fort Worth Area

Come and introduce yourself here.
AaronG

Sling TSi Builder In Dallas-Fort Worth Area

Post by AaronG »

I live in Flower Mound in the Dallas-Fort Worth TX area. I am a low time pilot with private pilot license from 1987. Life happened and 30+ years later with three great kids now out of the house on their way to adulthood it is time to re-engage with aviation. The last few years have been spent evaluating experimental aircraft, build vs buy, and if build what model. Lots of research, several trips to airshows and build assist centers it came down to the Sling TSi based on mission, time available to build, and the perceived “features” of the TSi (metal aircraft, pulled rivets, 4 seats, 915 iS, direct nose steering, viability of TAF, parachute for the wife so she will go with, push-pull rods, etc, etc.). One of the steps in the evaluation was my wife and I going out to Torrance for a demo ride this past spring. A public thanks to the hospitality of Barry, Jean and Wayne for the ride in his plane.

The last few months have been on garage prep to organize and climate control (blown insulation in garage attic, insulated garage doors, mini-split AC unit), its Texas. Tools collection and watching others’ blogs have been more recent activities. I do not have a blog but am documenting the build for DAR purposes via the newly released EAA builders log tool (free at https://eaabuilderslog.org/).

The plan at this moment is a sub-kit by sub-kit build. The empennage arrived last week and has been unpacked and organized. Waiting for the dimple dies from TAF now to get started.

The dream plan is to get this thing built and use as magic carpet ride for us to go see some things in the second half of life. Thanks to those who are sharing via blogs and I look forward to this forum being another resource.
Building Sling TSi since Jan 2020
PhilipRueker
Site Admin

Re: Sling TSi Builder In Dallas-Fort Worth Area

Post by PhilipRueker »