max weight

Model Specific Discussions about the Sling TSi.
Striker

max weight

Post by Striker »

I hope all pilots understand the importance of staying within CG and max weight. So I am not suggesting breaking that...

As a engineer I can't help but to be curious and want to understand how limits are set...
I am curious what is causing the max weight to be 2094. I see the max weight on the chute is 2094. Seems odd that they would be exactly the same. Was the plane's max weight designed to match the chute max? ( Magnum does have a chute that goes to 2700. just saying. obviously that's to high for the tsi )
But what is the next highest limiting factor ?? The landing gear ? The wings ? Performance specs, take off distance, stall speed ?
IF a plane was simply designed without the chute, what would the max weight be, 2095, 2096 ?? I realize taking the chute out in reality just effects useful load... But how did the 2094 number get into the original design ? If it was simply taking from the chute limit and they applied to the plane.... What would that mean if it wasn't ?

Sorry, I know that's not a very clear question.
Will

Re: max weight

Post by Will »

I recommend googling it, however to my understanding, the max weight is calculated per plane.

1st off I believe the plane is weighed with nothing in it, and this is considered its "empty Weight", I think. But you can also just check the Pilots operating manual for the Sling Tsi and I seem to remember that it gives you more info. :D
ibgarrett

Post by ibgarrett »

To calculate a standard empty weight: This weight consists of the airframe, engines, and all items of operating equipment that have fixed, permanently installed locations in the airplane, including fixed ballast, hydraulic fluid, unusable fuel, and full engine oil. :)
Brian Garrett
hpmicrowave

Post by hpmicrowave »