Hello from Seattle Washington

Come and introduce yourself here.
FlyBy

Hello from Seattle Washington

Post by FlyBy »

Hello All

I am a prospective builder dreaming of building a TSI. I passed my PPL around 3 months back and have racked up 90hrs of flying time in a high wing cessna.

After flying friends and family on short xc flights, I am pretty much set on the mission of the airplane and think that a TSI would be a good fit.

I am soaking up all the information that is available on the internet about the Sling Tsi builds and I am currently in a learning/exploring mode.

I appreciate any tips/tricks for a beginner like me who wants to venture into the world of building aircrafts.

Thanks in advance.
ibgarrett

Re: Hello from Seattle Washington

Post by ibgarrett »

Hi FlyBy,

Thanks for joining us as well as congrats on the PPL (3 months late)!

With only 90hrs of flying (so far) that's still pretty early to be making a commitment to building an airplane that I'm going to wager a guess you haven't ever flown in. I would definitely recommend flying a few other different types of airplanes to help get a feel for what the different airplanes fly like. Not to say the Sling fly's poorly or you wouldn't like it. The controls are MUCH crisper than a 172. It's more like driving a Miata vs. driving a Corolla.

On the subject of your rating v. airplane. Insurance is probably the bigger sticking point most SlingTsi folks run into. The lower your time, and lower the rating the more expensive the insurance will be. Getting your instrument rating first could be a several thousand dollars difference in what your insurance will be.